Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Looking for something quick and easy to put on the dinner table tonight? Well look no further, because you can have this on the table in as few as 20-25 minutes. It’s a one skillet side dish that is easy to make and clean-up after, with only one skillet to wash. This pasta side dish is great served with chicken or fish. One of our favorite meals, includes this side dish and a delicious brown sugar grilled salmon. If you haven’t tried orzo before, you’re gonna love this one! Orzo looks a lot like rice, but is made from semolina flour and is a very small sized pasta. The orzo is toasted in butter, then simmers in chicken broth and is finished off with fresh basil and freshly grated parmesan cheese. Very simple, but very delicious!

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

2 tablespoons butter

1 cup uncooked orzo pasta

14.5 ounces chicken broth, canned or homemade (I use Better than Bouillon Organic Chicken Base to make my chicken broth)

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil, plus 1 tablespoon for garnish (You may substitute 1 teaspoon dried basil for the 1/4 cup of fresh, but fresh is definitely better here)

1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese, plus a little extra for garnish.

In a medium sized skillet over medium heat, melt the butter and toast the orzo for about 5 minutes until golden, stirring constantly. Add the chicken broth. The skillet will be hot and the mixture will come to an immediate boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 13-15 minutes, until all liquid has been absorbed. Remove from the heat and stir in 1/4 cup fresh basil and 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, mixing until well combined. Garnish with additional parmesan cheese and 1 tablespoon fresh basil.

Recipe Source: Allrecipes.com

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

  1. I haven’t made orzo in so long. And every time I land on a new-to-me recipe for it, I get that craving to make it! Paired with parmesan, I can only imagine how good this is!

    Reply
  2. Thank you for the follow and love the orzo dish, orzo is one of my favorites. Ginger is just too cute and like my Izzy and Nando love to hang out with me and “help” in the kitchen! Love this blog!!

    Reply
    • You’re welcome!! Yes, Ginger is always standing nearby in the kitchen, just hoping I’ll drop a morsel or two, LOL. When I saw the title of your blog, I just had to subscribe. Thanks for your kind words, I see you have been around for a while, but I am just getting started and there seems to be so much to learn. BTW, I love the cute pug cartoon with the mixing bowl on your site. Your two pugs are adorable as well! Happy cooking!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

