Snickerdoodles

Cookies are definitely my weakness.  Of all the things I bake, there’s nothing I LOVE more than a fresh, warm, chewy cookie.  I think we’ve already established that I’m crazy for cinnamon, so it should be no surprise that these Snickerdoodles are one of my all-time favorite cookies.  You NEED to bake these cookies.  You will LOVE them, too.  Your family will LOVE you for baking them.  They have a wonderful slightly crisp exterior from the cinnamon sugar coating, but once you take a bite, it’s all chewy deliciousness inside.

Snickerdoodle and milk 4

I’ve been making these for over 30 years, so I have no idea where the original recipe came from.

Yield: 42 cookies

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup butter, softened to room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 large eggs

2 3/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400°F.  In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together with an electric mixer, and then add eggs and vanilla, blending well.  Combine flour, cream of tartar, soda and salt and whisk together, then add to the butter mixture, mixing until well combined and dough comes together.  I use a small cookie scoop to scoop out the dough balls so that they are all uniform in size, and then I roll each in a  ball.  If you don’t have a cookie scoop, then just pinch off sections of dough and roll them into 1-inch balls.  Combine 2 tablespoons sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon in a small bowl, and roll balls of dough in this mixture.  Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  I use a 13 X 18 (1/2 sheet) pan and get 15 dough balls on each sheet.  Bake for 8-10 minutes or until set and then remove to a cooling rack to cool completely.   Mine were perfect at 9 minutes.   I believe it’s better to under bake than over bake here.

2 thoughts on “Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

